UberLLM vs Runway
Runway is the place to go for Runway's own models and an editing app. UberLLM is a developer API only, with one key for chat, image, video, music, speech and transcription models through OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible endpoints, where each request goes to the cheapest healthy seller and you can cap the price per request.
Right now UberLLM routes 455 models, 191 of them for images, video, music and speech.
UberLLM vs Runway, side by side
| UberLLM | Runway | |
|---|---|---|
| How you start | $5 minimum top-up, no subscription | Free app plan; API credits at $0.01 each (no minimum purchase listed) |
| Free to try | None, prepaid credit | Free app plan with 125 one-time credits |
| Fee on top of model prices | None per request; 5% when you add credit | Not publicly listed |
| Works with the OpenAI SDK | Yes | Not stated |
| Works with Claude Code and the Anthropic SDK | Yes | Not stated |
| Chat and text models | Yes | No |
| Image models | Yes | Yes |
| Video models | Yes | Yes |
| Music models | Yes | No |
| Same model from many sellers | Yes | Not stated |
| Failed generations are free | Yes | Not stated |
| No-code app (no programming) | No | Yes |
| Run it on your own servers | No | No |
Runway facts are from its own site as of 28 October 2026 (its pricing page). “Not stated” means Runway does not publish it. The two companies are independent; Runway is a trademark of its owner. UberLLM prices are live on the model board.
What Runway is
Runway makes its own AI video models (such as Gen-4.5) and a web and mobile app for generating and editing video, images and audio. Its developer platform, Runway Dev, is an API for Runway's models and models from other labs, such as Kling, Seedance, Veo, GPT Image and ElevenLabs.
How you pay
The app has a Free plan and paid plans: Standard $15/month ($12 billed annually), Pro $35/month ($28 annually) and Max $95/month ($76 annually), each with monthly credits. The API uses separate credits bought at $0.01 per credit in the developer portal, with each model priced in credits per second, per image or per character.
What UberLLM is
A marketplace for unused AI compute. Each request goes to the cheapest healthy seller for that model, behind one OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible key.
How you pay
Pay per use at the price shown for each model, with nothing added per request. A 5% fee applies only when you add credit. A generation that fails costs nothing.
Pick UberLLM if
Developers who want the lowest live price for chat, image, video and music models under one key, using the OpenAI or Anthropic SDK they already have.
Pick Runway if
Creative teams and studios who want Runway's own video models with a full editing app, and developers who want those models through an official API.
What Runway does that UberLLM doesn’t
- Its own video and world models, such as Gen-4.5 and Aleph
- A no-code creative app on web and mobile, with brand kits and voice clones
- Avatar videos and ad recipes (product ads, UGC) in the API
- Upscaling, frame-rate and HDR tools
Prefer code to an editor? One key does it
Runway is an app you click through. UberLLM is an API: the models behind apps like it, called from your own code with the OpenAI or Anthropic SDK.
from openai import OpenAI
client = OpenAI(
base_url="https://api.uberllm.dev/v1", # the only line that changes
api_key="ull_your_key_here",
)
resp = client.chat.completions.create(
model="deepseek/deepseek-v4-flash",
messages=[{"role": "user", "content": "Hello!"}],
)
# the same key makes images (and video, music, speech)
img = client.images.generate(
model="venice/nano-banana-pro",
prompt="a red apple on a white table",
)FAQ
Is UberLLM a Runway alternative?
It depends on what you need. If you want an app to make and edit videos, or Runway's own Gen models, Runway is the better pick, because UberLLM has no editor. If you are a developer who wants one API key for many media and chat models, UberLLM is an alternative to the Runway Dev API.
How is UberLLM different from Runway?
Runway sells app plans (Free, then from $12/month billed annually) and separate API credits at $0.01 each. UberLLM has no plans: you add prepaid credit (minimum $5, with a 5% fee only when you add credit), pay the price shown per model, and a failed generation costs nothing. UberLLM also includes chat/LLM models, music and transcription, and accepts both OpenAI and Anthropic API formats.
Do Runway app credits work with the Runway API?
Runway's docs describe API credits as bought separately in the developer portal for a project, at $0.01 per credit. Self-serve API projects also have usage tiers that cap monthly spend and concurrency, which rise as you buy more credits.